A New Reality

The problem was that the problem was here

sometimes not so bad, but now quite severe:

that usually, on waking, in the early morning,

I would wait for hours for the day to start dawning.

It would stare me right-back in the face from the mirror:

pale-faced and black-eyed but still looking for cheer –

and irises blue – sky blue – still full of hope,

but then back along the long hall to bed would I grope.

But as I try to retreat, the room that I’m in

suddenly moves and jars – starts to whirl and spin:

I reach out for the wall – but the wall isn’t there –

my fingers reach hopelessly, strafing the air.

Reality blackens and beginning to stall

through a hole in the floor that wide opens – I fall!

It matters now, not, which reality I’m from –

for the world that I was in – and all in it – has gone:

and the new, darkened, reality – this seething black bin

reeks of evil and monsters all crawling with sin.

Here I’ll fight to survive, whilst I look for a door

that will bring my consciousnous back to the world-from-before

and back to the body that lies, still, in the hall

where it lays empty and lifeless and cold from the fall

but that meat is unwelcoming – for my heart has now stopped –

so from here to another plane-of-existence I hop.

From one world, then, to another, a new reality I leap –

but the wisdom I find in each place shall I keep,

and finally bringing it back from the distance I range,

I know only this: this world has to change!

Leave a Reply

